Call us on: 01785 333360
The Rural Enterprise Academy

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors of the Rural Enterprise Academy comprises of twelve governors, also known as trustees or directors. There are six governors appointed by the Rural Enterprise Academy Trust, two from the Academy’s sponsors, the National Farmers Union (NFU) and Veolia, two parent governors, one staff governor and the Principal. Governors’ names, their categories, membership of Committees and additional roles and responsibilities are detailed below.

The Board of Governors has established three committees, the Performance Committee, the Audit Committee and the Remuneration Committee. The Constitution and Terms of Reference for each of these committees can be found in the Board’s Standing Orders. Copies of the agendas, minutes and reports from Board and Committee meetings are available from the Clerk

Rural Enterprise Academy – Board and Committee Membership

Category Governors Expiry of term of office
Trust appointed governors:

Chair of Governors of SSC (ex officio)
Chief Executive Principal of SSC (ex officio)
Deputy Principal of SSC (ex officio)
3 other College governors

Steve Burgin Y Y 30/9/2021
Claire Boliver 12/7/2020
Kirk Hookham Y Y 12/1/2022
William Leslie Trigg Y 12/7/2020
Bill Avery Y 12/7/2020
David Tomlinson Y Y 30/6/2020
Trust appointed governor nominated by Veolia Matthew Pitt Y 15/12/2020
Trust appointed governor nominated by NFU Alan Warrington Y 29/3/2019
Principal of Academy Lorraine Makin Y Governor whilst in post
Parent governors Jayne Cooper Y 15/12/2020
Natalie-Anne Carter  Y  11/10/2021
Staff governor Deb Cunnion  9/10/2021


Nominated governor for safeguarding, special educational needs, child protection, e-safety & Prevent Kirk Hookham
Chief Finance Officer Vanessa Howard



Information and Documents

Parent View - Give Ofsted your view on your child's school

Financial Statements



© 2019 The Rural Enterprise Academy   E:   T: 01785 333360
Academy Policies - Cookie Information
The information on this website is correct at this point in time however it may be subject to change without prior notice